Book review: Editing Emma by Chloe Seager


Editing Emma by Chloe Seager

Publication date: August 10th 2017

Rating:★★★★☆

About the book

When sixteen-year-old Emma Nash is ‘ghosted’ by the love of her life Leon Naylor, she does what any normal teenage girl would do…Emma spends the summer lurking in her bedroom, avoiding all human contact (and the shower), surrounded by the collection of chewit wrappers she saved from packs Leon gave her, back when he actually acknowledged her existence…

The Review

After being in a reading slump for ages, I honestly never imagined a book like this would get me back into reading.

This is not a book I would normally read but after checking the synopsis I thought why not. Trust me I wasn’t disappointed.

The story is about 16 year old  Emma, she has just been dumped by the love of her life and here begins her process of dealing with it. From dating random guys to bad advice from friends, Emma is determined to get over Leon Naylor and move on to a better life. Do you think she can? or will she somehow find her way back in Leon’s life?

What did I like?

Where shall I start? Let me just say that this book is probably not for everyone, for me this book brought back memories of high school and how funny some of the things you did were. This felt like a teenage Bridget Jones to me, and of course that made it even more fun.

The book made me laugh so much and at times I was sad because I really wanted more for Emma, it also made me angry purely because now I’m older I know better and it made me disgusted….. uhm you have to read the book to work that one out.

My favourite characters were her best friend Steph because she was just rebellious and we all had or have a Steph in our lives. I also liked Faith because she kept it real all the time when she had to give her opinion. I had a bit of a love/hate relationship with the lead character- Emma, maybe because I always felt that she should know better or maybe because I saw a little bit of my 16 year old self in her.

I really enjoyed the pace of the book, even though I thought it was a weird way to blog but as a personal blog you can write it any way that suits you. The author openly writes about sex and the sexuality of the characters which made it quite realistic. These are the thoughts and pressures of the average 16year old, it’s not always roses and unicorns. Also the way technology has consumed our lives, I mean i could relate with a lot of what was in this book.

It had a nice realistic ending and also the growth of the main character made me smile while I turned the last page of the book with satisfaction. I really recommend this book to people out there but as I said, you either love it or you don’t! But I 100% loved it.

One thought on “Book review: Editing Emma by Chloe Seager

Leave a comment