Ramblings: Top 5 Manga Series I Have to Own

If anyone had asked me a year ago or even 6 months ago if I liked manga I would have given you the “are you crazy?” look. And to be honest I kind of stumbled on it some random day and to be honest I have never looked back. I have cheated though and wanted a few that are now series but nothing truly compares to reading the actual thing. I like a lot of lovey dovey stuff so you can imagine my surprise when I found out how addictive Shounen Manga is. So here are a list of my Top 5 manga series that I am looking forward to reading this 2017.

1. Tokyo Ghoul by Sui Ishida

This one is just shamazing….. I can’t get enough of Tokyo Ghoul. I watched the anime but I find that it didn’t do the Manga enough justice. So I am going to read it all…..

What its about

Shy Ken Kaneki is thrilled to go on a date with the beautiful Rize. But it turns out that she’s only interested in his body—eating it, that is. When a morally questionable rescue transforms him into the first half-human half-Ghoul hybrid, Ken is drawn into the dark and violent world of Ghouls, which exists alongside our own.

2. Attack on Titan by Hajime Isayama

I binge watched the anime and I just have to find out how it all ends. So I’m off to read the manga. It is one super actionpacked epic series.

What its about

In this post-apocalytpic sci-fi story, humanity has been devastated by the bizarre, giant humanoids known as the Titans. Little is known about where they came from or why they are bent on consuming mankind. Seemingly unintelligent, they have roamed the world for years, killing everyone they see. For the past century, what’s left of man has hidden in a giant, three-walled city. People believe their 100-meter-high walls will protect them from the Titans, but the sudden appearance of an immense Titan is about to change everything.

 3. Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

My list is never complete without some fun Shujo manga. I have been wanted to read this one and also I just noticed that the story line reads like something out of a K-drama.

What its about

One day, Haruhi, a scholarship student at exclusive Ouran High School, breaks an $80,000 vase that belongs to the ‘Host Club’, a mysterious campus group consisting of six super-rich (and gorgeous) guys. To pay back the damages, she is forced to work for the club, and it’s there that she discovers just how wealthy the boys are and how different they are from everybody else.

 4. Hana-Kimi by Hisaya Nakajo

I personally think this is the manga that inspired a Korean drama series I watched called “The Beautiful You”. So this really piqued my interest. (I know I do love my K-drama)

What its about

HE PRETTIEST BOY IN SCHOOL…ISN’T A BOY!
Japanese-American track-and-field star Mizuki has gotten herself a transfer to a high school in Japan…but not just any school! To be close to her idol, high jumper Izumi Sano, she’s going to an all-guys’ high school…and disguising herself as a boy! But as fate would have it, they’re more than classmates…they’re roommates! Now, Mizuki must keep her secret in the classroom, the locker room, and her own bedroom. And her classmates–and the school nurse–must cope with a new transfer student who may make them question their own orientation…
Plus a bonus story, “The Cage of Summer”!

 5. Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya

What its about

A family with an ancient curse…

And the girl who will change their lives forever…

Tohru Honda was an orphan with no place to go until the mysterious Sohma family offered her a place to call home. Now her ordinary high school life is turned upside down as she’s introduced to the Sohma’s world of magical curses and family secrets.

Do you read Managa? Do you have any favorites to share or recommend?

signature

One thought on “Ramblings: Top 5 Manga Series I Have to Own

Leave a Reply

