Book Review: Thunderlight (Dragonian Series #2) by Adrienne Woods

thunderlight

Release date: 21st November 2014
Publisher: Fire Quill Publishing
Source: Amazon
Rating: ★★★★☆

add-to-goodreads-button

About the Book

All this may seem like old news, but for seventeen year-old Elena Watkins the world of Paegeia is not finished revealing all its secrets. During a summer break intended for relaxation, she discovers that her harrowing adventure to retrieve the King of Lion sword wasn’t the destiny foretold by the cryptic Viden, a dragon with the ability to see a person’s true fate. The words inked onto the page of the mysterious Book of Shadows remains black and Elena must return to Dragonia Academy to discover their true meaning.

Upon her return to the magnificent castle she has to face a challenge of a different kind, keeping her boyfriend Lucian McKenzie, the Prince of Tith and love of her life, away from the dangerous new student, Paul Sutton. As a Wyvern, Paul has made it his mission to claim Elena as his rider but he is proving to be more perilous than at first glance.

Everyone knew that Wyverns were bad news, and just as evil as the darkness that lurked inside Blake Leaf, the Rubicon forced to fight against his inner nature every day. But Elena can see a small light lurking in the darkness, a destiny still unfulfilled; to prove that Wyverns can be claimed.

Will Lucian’s dark secret about Wyverns and Elena’s need to prove their true nature cause their love to be torn apart? And which of Elena’s friends will be sacrificed this time if she is wrong?

The Review

We return to the world of paegeia and the Dragonians. There is now a new king of lion weapon and they managed to stop a brutal attack from Goran. And While Elena is trying to keep a low profile she and her friends can’t seem to go unnoticed for what they did to save the academy.
Also, there is the other thing of being accepted by Lucian’s parents. Things between them are getting heated up and while she loves Lucian so much she can’t seem to shake how Blake makes her feel. Yes, he hates her guts but he always seems to be there to save her.
When a new student, a Wyvern by the name of Paul joins the academy, Elena tries her best to ignore his attempts at friendship. But when Paul convinces her that she is his rider, she is determined to prove everyone wrong about their feelings towards Wyverns. Lucian on his quest to claim Blake uncovers some certain truths that could change a lot of what everyone knows about the foretellings and future of Paegeia.

What did I like? Ohhh mmmyyy daayyyzzz!!! So I was trying to not give anything away because this series is like a drug for me.
After book 1 I just knew I had to keep reading this series. I enjoyed this book a lot, although there were moments I thought could have been left out, like the girls getting ready for the ball, I mean we didn’t need the minute by minute detail.
This book had a lot of information and detail that I’m sure will make sense in the next books to come, so even thought it was muddying up my brain I bit I did my best absorb it.
I felt like the author was playing with my emotions a bit, I actually thought I have the story figured out but at the end, the author threw a spin on it all and like everyone in Paegeia it threw me completely. But that alone made me know that this series is just going to get better.
Blake for heaven’s sake was just a lot, in my opinion, I know they say the darkness but why be so super mean? And Tabitha? lets not even go there.
I loved Lucian a lot in this book, he is just the most perfect human being *swoon*
Paul my Wyvern man was just the best, his performance was epic. The end of the book was also one that i will not forget and I cant wait to read the next book as I am sure it will only get better.

Leave a Reply

