Book Review: Weregirl by C.D Bell

wergirl

Release date: 1st November 2016
Source: Author
Rating:★★★☆☆

About the Book

Eager to escape her small hometown, high school junior Nessa Kurland is focused on winning a college scholarship for cross-country running. A chance encounter with a trapped wolf while out on a run leads to powerful and frightening changes, and one day, Nessa is transformed into a full werewolf. Now Nessa must navigate the challenges of high school while coming face to face with true human darkness, as she tries to make peace with her new wild nature.

The Review

First of all I want to apologise to the author for not posting this during the blog tour. Its not my style to let down authors or publishers and I do hope that this has not created a bad impression or ruined any opportunities for the future.

I was given a sample of this book to review, and you all know how much I love wolves, so I did not hesitate to read the full book.
The book started off really strong, with getting know Nessa and her family who live in a small town which is recovering from the wake of a chemical spill. She has finally made the cross country team and is determined to make it out of her hometown no matter what it takes.
One night when on a run she comes face to face with a trapped wolf that she tries to save only to then be bitten. What follows are a series of changes that Nessa does not know how to handle or who she can trust to seek help from. Also, there is something strange going on in the town with the new company that has bought the chemical plant.

What did I think? I really wanted to love this book from start to finish, it started off great, and then the middle came and I was bored. I don’t know if it was Nessa or the other characters which didn’t seem to make much sense but I kept waiting for something awesome to happen but it never came. I think the plot was good, I kinda guessed who the bad guys were even before we got there and who the heck is the Grey wolf and how does Luc feature in all of this? (sorry I won’t give spoilers).
Cassian turned out to be a conceited jerk (why am I not surprised), and Bree is the essential best friend that everyone needs to have. Nessa’s mum seemed to be there most of the time and then she disappears half way through.
I just couldn’t connect with the characters in the book and found myself flipping through so I could just get to the end. I don’t know if I will read the next book in the series but I might be inclined to read more as I am hoping the author will do more with the characters and the story.

Leave a Reply

