Book Review : Unspoken (Shadow Falls After Dark #3) by C.C. Hunter

unspoken

Release date: 25th October 2015
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Source: Netgalley
Rating:★★★★☆

About the Book

Despite her superhuman strength and enhanced senses, Della Tsang’s life as a vampire certainly hasn’t been easy. Especially since she was reborn and bound to the mysterious, infuriating, and gorgeous Chase Tallman.

But if there’s one thing that’s always kept Della going, it’s her dream of being an elite paranormal investigator. Her newest case is the opportunity she’s been waiting for, but as Della tries to solve the twenty-year-old murder and clear her father’s name. She uncovers secrets about the vampire council. And about Chase.

Feeling betrayed by all the secrets he’s kept hidden from her, Della is determined to keep him as far away from her heart as she can. But she’ll need his help to solve the case that will lead them into the darkest and ugliest vampire gangs in town and into the scariest reaches of her heart.

The Review

Finally, I get to read book 3. Even though I am sad that this series will end I just can’t wait to find out what happens.
At the end of book 2 Chase and Della have been bound, this was all to help Della go through being reborn. As infuriating as it is for Della, she doesn’t understand what it all means but she is mostly pre-occupied with the arrest of her father for the murder of his sister.
Della starts to uncover secrets about her father’s past and the vampire council while also being followed around by ghosts who need her help.
Steve is also back which makes Della wonder where they left things and also makes her question whether her feelings for Chase are for real or if the bond they share compels her.

What did I think? Well finally book 3 is here and I was so super excited to find out what would happen. Chase even though he is so infuriating began to grow on me. Della annoyed me a lot in this book, then again when is she not annoying me? She constantly feels like she is indestructible when we clearly know she isn’t and Chase having to come and save her butt most of time was beginning to grate on me.
We get to learn more about Della’s fathers family, sadly everything about her mom is skimmed over and in my opinion makes the mum a bit irrelevant. We get to see a softer side of Burnett here and I think I kinda like him as father figure for Della. It definitely changed my opinion of him in the story.
Miranda and Kylie were just background noise to me as i didn’t really care for them. I liked the ending, it was an expected one but I don’t know why it takes us almost losing someone to realise that we can’t live without that person. Such is life.

Anyway an awesome end to the series, it has definitely changed my opinion on vampire stories. i hope there can be more like this in the future.

One thought on “Book Review : Unspoken (Shadow Falls After Dark #3) by C.C. Hunter

Leave a Reply

