Book Review: Firebolt by Adrienne Woods(The Dragonian #1)

firebolt

Release date: 19th September 2014
Source: Netgalley
Rating: ★★★★★

add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis
Dragons. Right. Teenage girls don’t believe in fairy tales, and sixteen-year-old Elena Watkins was no different.
Until the night, a fairy tale killed her father.
Now Elena’s in a new world, and a new school. The cutest guy around may be an evil dragon, a Prince wants Elena’s heart, and a long dead sorcerer may be waking up to kill her. Oh. And the only way Elena’s going to graduate is on the back of a dragon of her own.
Teenage girls don’t believe in fairy tales. Now it’s time for Elena to believe – in herself

The Review

I was getting bored with a lot of the books I was reading and so when I got the chance to read about dragons ha! I didn’t hesitate.
Meet Elena Watkins she is 16 and lives with her dad. All her life she and her dad have been moving from city to city, staying at a place only 3 months at a time. In fact, it happened like clockwork that she even had a timer set for this occasion. On this night, she could sense that this is what was about to happen again and knowing she can’t fight her dad she gets dressed and packs only what she needs. But something goes wrong and their car is suddenly attacked by Dragons.

To Elena dragons are the things of fairy tales and it appears her dad is one too. But before Elena can digest what is happening her dad is attacked and she is almost killed. When she wakes up she realizes that her whole world will never be the same. Her dad is gone and the bedtime stories he once told her about a magical world called paegeaia become real as she wakes up there.

Elena must navigate her way through this new world which seems easier said that done as she tries to juggle a foretelling which makes little sense to her, making new friends, a powerful dragon who seems to despise her and a prince who can’t seem to get enough if her.

What did I think? Ok, I simply love dragons and let me tell you this book was just “hamazing!!!!” Jeeze I couldn’t help fangirling at the end of this book. The plot was just so awesome, I love it when my assumptions about a story are wrong. The author put a whole bunch of curve balls that had me wondering where the story would lead.
I felt bits and pieces were a bit slow and just included to fill up pages in the story. I liked Elena, but i just needed her to have a bit more faith and confidence in herself, but I guess not having a mom and the way she grew up will have that effect on you. Elena, however, seems to just be so bold in taking on what needed to be done, the other characters were great too. I liked Becky, she was pretty much no nonsense and didn’t sugar coat anything. Sammy just seemed like a hippy chick and that’s how I actually envision her. Blake….. why bother as things didn’t go as I predicted I am a bit skeptical about him. Lucien is just my secret book boyfriend (swoon). he is just so amazing with a strength and authority that was oozing off the pages.
I liked that the author gave a lot of backstory and history to the dragons. I enjoyed learning about it same time as Elena, made understanding it pretty good. The riddles were fun, I actually guessed the answer to some which was fun.
The world building was pretty good I really felt I was in a magical world with a floating academy and magical elevators that transport you to Elma and other areas of Paegeia.
Overall an awesome book that will keep you wanting so much more that you can’t help but grab book 2 to make sure the series never ends.

 

Leave a Reply

