Book Review: Ophelia Adrift by Helen Goltz

ophelia

Title : Ophelia Adrift
Author: Helen Goltz
Release date: 1st July 2016
Genre : Young adult, Paranormal Fantasy
Source: Netgalley
Rating: ★★★☆☆
Buy it: Amazon

Synopsis

In her wildest dreams, Ophelia Montague never imagined she would leave the city, her friends, her school and move to a seaside village. But when her parents die in an accident, that’s just where she finds herself – ensconced in a rambling house on the beach, with her uncle Sebastian, his border – nineteen-year-old Adam Ferrier, and two Great Dane dogs named after shipwrecks. By the ocean’s edge, she meets Jack Denham who seems to command the sea and the moon—and if he has his way—Ophelia, too.

The Review

I saw this book on Netgalley and immediately fell in love with the cover. I wasn’t so sure of the blurb… it seemed a bit sketchy and strange.
Anyway, this is 16year old Ophelia, she has lost her parents in an accident and so has been sent to live with her mother’s only living relative, her uncle Sebastian. He is a bit of a quirky man who lives in a house by the beach and is obsessed with boats.
After living in the city for so long this is a massive change for Ophelia but she is willing to embrace the change.
She starts school and immediately begins making friends with the neighbor’s and also with her uncle’s border Adam who works in the local town.
One night looking out over the ocean she spots a lonely figure, she first thinks she imagined it but later realizes that he is real.
They are both taken by each other and Jack is determined to spend eternity with Ophelia by his side, but Jack has a secret.

What did I think? So I didn’t love this book, but also, I didn’t really hate it. I just needed it to be over so Ophelia’s stupidity would stop. I know she liked Jack but when she found out some more information common sense should have kicked in.
The book was a bit too slow paced for me, it just didn’t fit in with the normal reaction to situations. Like Jack wanting to show her where he lived… where exactly did she think it was going to be huh? that was my million dollar question. I liked Adam but I felt he was a lot on the sidelines, I hope in the next book he will be one of the main characters. The other characters in the book were ok nothing special, I liked reading the story from their perspective but I think in future it will be great to keep it to a max of 3 people. I didn’t know what Holly’s point of view was even important she just kept day dreaming about Chayse and Adam.
A great end to the book, I don’t know if I will read book 2 but I guess a part of me whats to find out what happens next.

Leave a Reply

