Book Review: Those Summer Nights by Mandy Baggot

thosesummerRelease date: 27th May 2016
Publisher: Bookouture
Source: Netgalley
Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis
Imogen Charlton is sorted. Dead-beat husband? History. Dream job? Application sent. But then her impulsive brother, Harry, spends every last penny on a Greek restaurant in Corfu and is determined to run it himself. It’s up to Imogen to bring him to his senses.When sexy millionaire Panos Dimitriou offers to buy back his family taverna, Imogen wonders if all her prayers have been answered (and all her fantasies about to come true). But Harry won’t budge, and his enthusiasm is infectious.Bright pink bougainvillea tumbling over whitewashed walls, endless blue skies, the sparkling Mediterranean; it’s hard not to fall for Corfu. And that’s not all Imogen is falling for…

As the sparks of passion fly between Imogen and Panos, is Imogen having second thoughts on selling the restaurant? And will she have to choose between love and a new dream?

 

The Review

A wonderfully romantic story set on the romantic shores of Corfu.
Imogen works in a cafe, she seems to be doing ok after her divorce. She gets to spend time with her mom and her brother who suffers from depression. And then out of the blue her brother Harry buys a restaurant in Corfu and is determined to make a success of it, with Imogen’s help of course. At first Imogen thinks Harry has gone a bit bonkers and just can’t seem to visualize what it could look like after the much-needed work but also she has never seen her brother this happy and so she continues to offer her support. Even though Panos Dimitriou the hot multi-millionaire offers to buy back the restaurant Imogen and Harry are determined to make it work. But also Imogen cannot seem to deny her attraction to Panos and she must make some decisions about her family, future career, and her heart.
What did I think? The book started off a bit slow but once I got into it I actually loved the story. I have never been to Greece but after reading this I really have to book a trip out there to enjoy the scenery.
I liked Imogen, although at first I found her to be a bit whiny and I didn’t like that she didn’t have a lot of faith in Harry and his abilities.
But apart from that, she was awesome, very determined and driven. In fact, it reminded me a little about myself as I also have massive issues with people telling me what to do.
Panos…..*swoon* he sounded delicious. I need him in my life or just for a short holiday fling (ha ha!).
I liked that the author touched on the importance of family and tradition because we sometimes get blinded by the success we forget the things that truly matter to us and make us happy.
I loved the fact that Panos didn’t try to stop Imogen from pursuing her dreams, it takes a very strong confident man to do that and of course, love. When you love someone, you just want them to be happy and that was the icing on the cake for me. A gorgeous end to the story, I recommend this for everyone this summer, it is sure to bring some Greek sunshine into your summer.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Those Summer Nights by Mandy Baggot

Leave a Reply

