Book Review: Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

snowRelease date: 20th September 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Source: Publisher
Rating:★★★☆☆

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent the majority of her life within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she’s not crazy and doesn’t belong there. When she meets a mysterious, handsome new orderly and dreams about a strange twisted tree she realises she must escape and figure out who she really is.Using her trusting friend Bale as a distraction, Snow breaks free and races into the nearby woods. Suddenly, everything isn’t what it seems, the line between reality and fantasy begins to blur, and she finds herself in icy Algid–her true home–with witches, thieves, and a strangely alluring boy named Kai, none of whom she’s sure she can trust. As secret after secret is revealed, Snow discovers that she is on the run from a royal lineage she’s destined to inherit, a father more powerful and ruthless than she could have imagined, and choices of the heart that could change the fate of everything…including Snow’s return to the world she once knew.

This breathtaking first volume begins the story of how Snow becomes a villain, a queen, and ultimately a hero.

 

The Review

So apparently this is a bit of a retelling of the Snow Queen.
I vaguely remember reading the snow queen from my very early years but I understood the general story line. I think this is kinda like a before the Ice queen was the Ice queen story…… have I lost you yet? Good!
The story is centered around 17-year-old Snow, she lives in a mental hospital and has been there since she was 6 years old. She doesn’t understand why her mom left her there but it’s all she has ever known. The one person she can always count on to keep her sane is her best friend Bale.

But one day everything changed when she is visited by a new orderly who tells her she must escape, and to make things worse Bale has been taken by something in a mirror and she must break free to find Bale.
Once Snow breaks free and makes it to the woods, her world she has always known begins to blur as she finds herself in Algid, her true home or so she is told. The truth about who she is revealed to her, a princess on the run from her ruthless father the king who wants to use her to gain more power.

What did I think? I am slowly beginning to understand that I am not the biggest fan of fairytale retellings, they just don’t seem original to me. Yes, it might be told from a different angle but still, it lacks originality for me.
This one took a while to get started as the beginning is a bit slow as we get to know Snow and her routine in the metal hospital.
The world building was ok, I mean everything was just covered in snow if you know what I mean.
In terms of the characters, I actually liked Snow and felt sorry for her as it seemed everyone just wanted to use her. Everyone was keeping vital information from her which I thought was not very nice as it didn’t prepare her for anything happening around her.

Even when she felt she was using the people to get to where she needed to go, it still felt like she was losing. My heart broke for her with the betrayal around her, I don’t blame her for becoming the ice queen you know, I would do the same.
The plot twist towards the end was pretty good, I really did not see it coming and with the way the book ended I am keen to read book 2. The author does a fabulous job with this retelling and I look forward to reading more books by this author.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

  1. It’s sad that you don’t like fairytale retellings. Maybe you should try reading The Lunar Chronicles! They are fairytale retellings but after reading them, it doesn’t really strike me as fairytale retellings.

    I would give this one a try since I am a sucker for fairytale retellings like half of my books are all fairytale retellings. I just find it nice that it’s from a different vantage point and I get to explore the world within the book more.

    Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem! You have a lovely blog! 🙂 I cannot wait to read your review about the lunar chronicles! :)) I hope you have fun reading it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

