Book Review: Reborn ( Shadow Falls : After Dark #1) by C.C Hunter

rebornRelease date: 20th May 2014
Publisher: St Martin’s Griffin
Source: Netgalley
Rating:★★★★☆

Synopsis
For Della Tsang, Shadow Falls isn’t just a camp: it’s home. As a vampire who’s never fit in with her human family, it’s the one place she can truly be herself. But when a mysterious new guy arrives at camp, Della’s whole world is thrown into turmoil. Chase is a vampire with secrets, who knows more than he’s telling. But the more time she spends with him, the more she begins to trust this attractive stranger—and feel drawn to him. But romance is the last thing she wants—as she keeps telling Steve, the hunky shapeshifter who won’t stop trying to win her heart. And if Della isn’t careful, he just might succeed.  When a new case puts everyone she cares about in danger, Della’s determined to do everything she can to save them . . . even if it means teaming up with Steve and Chase, who leave her more confused than ever. With their lives on the line, will Della and her friends survive—with their hearts intact?

 

The Review

Thanks to the author and publisher for this eBook in exchange for an honest review.

A few months ago I came across the e-novellas for this series and read exactly how Della got turned and just knew that I would like to read the rest of this story.
So when I found this series I couldn’t resist.
Della is one of the teens that lives at shadow falls learning how to control her powers and is working hard to graduate so she can work for the FRU. She knows everyone in her life ups and leaves her at some points so she is weary of her feeling for the sexy shapeshifter Steve. She can’t deny she has feelings for him, she just doesn’t want to risk losing herself. The arrival of a new vampire at the academy had Della on alert, she knows he has secrets and even though she doesn’t want to care she can’t help but wonder what he is up to.
Della finally gets to work an FRU case with Burnett, but she also has to work with Chase and Steve throws her world into confusion and the ghost hanging around is definitely not making it easier.

What did I like? I really liked this series, I never read a lot of vampire books because I don’t feel like there is really much to them. But this one was different, the inclusion of the FRU gave them a purpose with preserving and helping mankind or humankind. So that was great. I really liked Burnett, he is a hard ass but as soft as a marshmallow at the center.
The story line was great, I really enjoyed the pace of the books, I’m so glad I read the Almost Midnight novellas as that gave some depth to the characters.
I loved Chase, he is a bit arrogant but I do love confidence. The supporting characters in the book were also great, I see the author did this in case they needed to branch out with the other characters.
Della was really annoying “ dad-blasted”? “Bullcrappers?”. A lot of teenage angst in this book that I couldn’t stop rolling my eyes. But altogether a great read, it ended in a way that has me rushing off to read book 2.

Leave a Reply

