Book Review: The Phoenix Born (A Dance of Dragons #3) by Kaitlyn Davis

The Phoenix BornRelease date: 17th November 2015
Source: Netgalley
Rating:★★★★☆

Synopsis

For the first time in a thousand years, the fire dragon has been awakened and Rhen is its rider. But after destroying the armies that threatened the city of Rayfort, Rhen is shown a vision in flames that changes everything. The shadow’s phantom armies are coming and the dragons are the only things that might stop them.

High in the castle at the top of the Gates, Jinji has learned something of her own. Janu, her long lost twin, is alive. And just as the spirit shares her body, the shadow shares his. In the blink of an eye, her quest for vengeance against the evil that killed her family has changed to one of protection. Because she knows that if Rhen learns the truth he will do what she cannot—end the shadow, and end her brother in the process.

As the shadow grows more aggressive, Jinji and Rhen fight to find the rest of the dragon riders. But with time running out, they are forced to face the impossible decision between honor and love. Alliances are formed, promises are broken, and the fate of the world hangs in the balance…

 

The Review

After reading book 2 which I felt just set the tone and pace for book 3, I was super excited to see how everything plays out. Do I need to recap for you or are you happy just reading on? Read on you shall….

This is such an awesome final gook in the trilogy, although I had moments my eye rolling moments in this book it was still a great conclusion.

So Rhen has awoken his dragon and the battle which was raging has now ended leaving a lot of death in its path. Janu is alive, but the shadow is still out there and it is killing all the elemental beings before Jinji has a chance to reach them in order to awake the other dragons. I felt parts of this book dragged on a bit, there were moments I thought were not even needed but I also enjoyed reading the story from Rhen and Jinji’s point of view.

We finally uncover what the Shadow’s intentions are and what he really wants, the suspense and the edge of you seat action was just amazing. It was nice to have extra characters in this book, although I felt it would have helped for us to get to know more about them some times they felt like background noise to me.

I absolutely loved Rhen is this book, it seemed he would have done anything to save Jinji including losing her if it meant making the right choice and that actually broke my heart. There was finally a bit of romance in this one, which made me smile.

I was sad that this was finally the end of the series as I had really come to love the characters, Rhen, Junji, Princess Leena ….. I just couldn’t connect or like Janu, I felt he didn’t really add much except be linked to the shadow.

Overall it was a great series and I would recommend to all readers who love a bit of fantasy and Dragons.

Leave a Reply

