Book Review : Dark Touch by Amiee L. Salter

DARK TOUCH - Cover FinalRelease date: 23rd February 2016
Publisher : Alloy Entertaiment
Source: Netgalley
Rating:★★★☆☆

Synopsis

Tully isn’t alone in her skin. Whenever she touches someone, they feel everything she feels. All her ugliness. All her darkness. All her pain.
The only thing she wants is to be left alone—and to finally get out of her small Oregon town.
But then she meets Chris. He’s everything she’s not. Light. Trusting. Innocent. And he wants Tully.
Tully knows she should spare him the heartache of being with her. But when he touches her, she’s not sure she’ll have the strength to push him away…
From the author of Every Ugly Word comes a poignant, emotionally raw story about the violence that plays out behind closed doors and the all-consuming passion of first love.

 

The Review

Oh wow, this book was a lot to take in, ok where do I start.
The story is about Tulip or Tully as she liked to be called, she is almost 18 and about to graduate high school. It’s only a few months to go and then she will be free to leave this town, the darkness, the pain and the ugliness. But there is something special about Tully, whoever she touches has the ability to feel every emotion she feels. For this reason alone she has no friends and no one wants to come close to her because they all believe she isn’t worth it. This is until Chris comes along, he is new in town and from the moment he touches Tully everything changes. She knows he will walk away from her once he knows the truth about her but Chris has other plans.

What did I like? So this book…….. the author addresses some really serious situations that people experience, alcoholism, abuse, exploitation. From the start of the story my heart broke for Tully, I felt my heart racing in situations where she was helpless and it was just so typical of the people around her to inflict more pain on her.
Tully, in my opinion, is a very strong character in the book, even though she is filled with self-loathing and rage she is not one to mince her words as I reflect on the conversation she had with the principal.
I liked Chris, but it seemed the author over did it with the superhero complex he seemed to be having. Then again I do know someone that had that complex so it’s not that much out of the ordinary. I felt like I didn’t get to know Chris a lot more, about what he wants (besides Tully) and what his relationship was like with his parents. I only gathered that they were Christians but nothing else about them(the parents) so I was like, “why are you even here?”
Rudy was a piece of work, but then people like him exist in every aspect of life, they are called takers. I will stop there because I can’t tell you how much I detest people who use manipulation to get what they want. He was like a pest in the end.
The story was a bit slow for me in some parts but I can see the author was building up to the point involving THAT MAN! and why Tully is who she is.
I liked how the book ended, actually, I knew it would end like that I was just enjoying the journey to it. I was shocked at Tulip’s dad, though, people like him should just not…….. ah! I almost said it but I won’t.
A really touching story that I will not be too quick to forget.

Leave a Reply

