Book Review : Gathering Frost (Once Upon a Curse #1) by Kaitlyn Davis

gathering frostRelease date: 16th February 2015

Source: Author

Rating:★★★★☆

Synopsis

Will the prince’s kiss be enough to revive her frozen heart? Don’t miss GATHERING FROST, a dystopian romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that reimagines the classic fairy tale of Sleeping Beauty.

“I wish I could say I was the hero of the story. A resister. A rebel. Someone who lived to bring an end to the queen who stole my childhood–my mother, my life, my very world. But I’m not. I’m not the good guy. I’m the one who puts the good guys in their graves.”
Jade was only a little girl when the earthquake struck. Before her eyes, half of New York City disappeared, replaced by a village that seemed torn out of a storybook. Horses and carriages. Cobblestone streets. A towering castle. And, above all, a queen with the magical ability to strip emotions away.
Ten years later and Jade has forgotten what it is to feel, to care…even to love. Working as a member of the queen’s guard, she spends most of her time on the city wall staring at the crumbling skyscrapers of old New York. But everything changes when the queen’s runaway son, Prince Asher, returns. Under his relentless taunts, her blood begins to boil. Under his piercing gaze, her heart begins to flutter. And the more her icy soul begins to thaw, the more Jade comes to question everything she’s ever known–and, more importantly, whose side she’s really on.

 

The Review

A huge thanks to the author and YA Bound book tours for this eBook in exchange for an honest review

I didn’t know that this was a bit of a fairytale retelling and if you know me, you will know I can be a bit critical about them as to me the stories are just not original. But Kaitlyn Davis puts a spin on this that made me even forget it was some sort of retelling. The author managed to make this into an awesome story.
From the top then, at the age of 6 Jade’s world, she knew changed when an earthquake replaced her home with a village that was from another world. The woman she believed was a loving queen seems to have frozen her heart and over time Jade forgot everyone in her who was once in her world.
At 16, she is an elite member of the queen’s guard and guards the walls which overlook a crumbling old New York that she has no memory of.
The prince has escaped and so the queen send’s Jade to find him and lure him back to the village. What Jade thinks will be a very easy mission starts to get complicated once she begins to learn more about the rebellion that is rising up against the queen. And also there is the matter of Asher who just might melt her frozen heart and free her from the queens thrall.

What did I like? I really enjoyed reading this story, I won’t say what fairytale it relates to I will let you guess yourself. The world building was ok, I expected a bit more maybe because I liked this author’s previous series. There was very little explored with the secondary characters as everything was focused on Jade and Asher. The book was cheesy and I sort of knew how it would end and what needed to be done before Jade could figure it out (the beauty of a fairy tale)  but the way the author described the events was what kept me interested. Jade started to annoy me towards the end with her saviour complex, the funny thing is she didn’t even need to do all if she could have just taken a step back.I liked the queen, as a villain she was just awesome. The book ended in a good way but I guess I’m keen to find out where the story leads next.
If you like a good retelling then this is definitely for you.

2 thoughts on “Book Review : Gathering Frost (Once Upon a Curse #1) by Kaitlyn Davis

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour Stop + Review : Withering Rose (Once Upon a Curse #2) by Kaitlyn Davis | The Angels Pearl

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Loved That Have Under 2000 Ratings | The Angels Pearl

Leave a Reply

