Book Review: Cursed (Beholder #1) by Christina Bauer

CursedFrontRelease date: 29th March 2016

Publisher: Ink Monster

Source: Publisher

Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis

Most days, Elea couldn’t care less about having Necromancer magick. Who needs to conjure skeletons and sprits when you’re a farm girl? Elea only uses her powers to speed up chores and scare off suitors.

Everything changes when the evil Necromancer Tsar curses Elea. Now, Elea has five years left before she burns as a ghost, tortured for all eternity. They say there’s nothing she can do, but Elea disagrees. She decides to embrace her Necromancer powers, train as a magickal assassin, and kill the Tsar… All before his curse kills her. Impossible as it may sound, Elea thinks she has it in the bag, but then everything goes horribly wrong.

That’s when a handsome mage named Rowan steps up to help. Elea wants an ally, but she doesn’t need all the mixed-up feelings that come along with Rowan’s crooked smile.

An assassination mission is no time to fall in love, but Elea’s heart may have other ideas…

 

A special thanks to Ink Monster and Christina Bauer for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

The Review

Does anyone know I am a Christina Bauer fan? Her first series made me fall in love with YA so I knew I had to read this one.

Meet Elea, she is a necromancer who can wield magick but she doent really care about that all she uses it for is to do her chores on her farm she inherited. One day she gets a call that her best friend is dying and a curse has been placed on her. In order to stop the curse she must kill Victor the Tsar , but only a well trained grand mistress can defeat the Tsar. So Elea decides to embrace her magick and train to become a grand mistress. Days before her curse is meant to take hold she tracks down the Tsar and is ready to fight him but her journey is intercepted by Rowan a creation caster who asks for her help. Even though Elea knows she cannot defeat the Tsar on her own, will trusting Rowan be the right thing to do?

What did I like? I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish. I wont lie there were some pats that were a bit slow but I guess the author was establishing the characters for the story.

The characters were well written that I started to feel like I knew them in some way. Elea was just awesome, she is a fighter and an impulsive one at that. I liked her style and even her thought processes. Rowan, now that is one very seriously hot dude! I liked how he was dotting on Elea even though she was ignoring it all, I kept hoping for more romance. I hope the author doesn’t hold out on me in book 2. The sparks were there that you could start a fire with it.

The supporting characters were also done really well, Nan was one of my favourite ones. Marlene was just so sick and twisted; I wish I could kick her for just how evil she was.

The Tsar, now don’t get me started on him, he was just slimy and disgustingly evil. I won’t say any more so I don’t give any spoilers. All I can say is this is such an awesome book worth reading! I can’t wait for book 2 as the end left me with so many unanswered questions.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Cursed (Beholder #1) by Christina Bauer

Leave a Reply

