Book Review: The Truth Spell by Anita Oh

The Truth Spell coverRelease date: 12th November 2015

Source: Xpresso Book Tours

Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis

As soon as I stepped onto the grounds of Amaris High, I knew I’d made a big mistake. I could never fit in at such a snobbish school – I was more IT girl than “it girl”. But then I saw him.

Sam Spencer. My childhood best friend. But it couldn’t be. Sam Spencer had died three years ago, on the night that changed everything. I need to know what happened, why he’s suddenly not dead and is hanging out with a bunch of rich kids.

When the school is hit by a truth spell, it seems like the perfect chance to find out what Sam and his creepy new friends are hiding, but the weirder things get, the less I’m sure I want to know. Even for Sam, even for the free food, Amaris High might be more trouble than it’s worth.

 

The Review

*I got a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Lucy is just your average teenager who works hard to help her single mum and her brothers at home. So when she gets scholarship to go to the prestigious Amaris High she is a bit torn but knows that it is the stepping stone she needs to be able to do more in the future for her family.

As soon as she gets there she knows she will have trouble fitting in with the spoiled students who attend the same school. Things were off to a good start as her new roommate Hannah seems quite nice and helpful until she sees him, SAM! Sam was her childhood best friend who suddenly dissapeard from his home 10 years ago and even though it has been  while Lucy feels a wave of memories and emotion wash over her at the sight of him. But when she asks about him the Wildes or the golden as they are called, try to make her life miserable or complicated. Soon Lucy thinks she might have imagined seeing Sam. But one night someone casts a spell over the school  by placing a truth spell that threatens to undo secrets that have been hidden within the school. Soon Lucy starts to feel like she is completely out of her depth but there is the wolf that always seems to show up.

What did I like? This was a really short story, it started off pretty slow and I kept waiting for a lot more to happen. The cover mentions werewolf high so I though Lucy was going to a school for werewolves and then all the drama begins. Imagine my disappointment at most of it. I honestly didn’t get the whole concept of who created the truth spell and at some point felt the story was going in circles.

The story picked up nicely toward the end. As this is the start of a series I am hopeful that book 2 will be miles better that this one.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Truth Spell by Anita Oh

Leave a Reply

