Book Review : Everealm by J.D Wright

everealmRelease date: 8th September 2015

Source: Netgalley

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Synopsis

Breestlin cannot escape her destiny to become ruler of her father’s kingdom, but she never planned to become queen at twenty-three years of age. Upon the return of her first love, Rowan, Bree must quickly learn how to adapt to both her new responsibilities as a ruler and her inability to suppress her feelings for Rowan. To make matters more difficult, her outcast uncle, Silas, will stop at nothing to get what he desires, putting lives and the kingdom in danger. Bree must seek the assistance of the wizard, Dagan, who in a twist of fate discovers much more about his family (and himself) than he could ever imagine in this steamy love story, full of mystery and romance…

Danger awaits, as we journey through Everealm, the first book of the Everealm Series.

 

The Review

I saw this book and thought it was great as I liked the synopsis. I also signed up to the blog tour for the second book so thought I’d get my reading on.

The story is set in the word of Everealm, where Breestlin (strange name right) is the heir that must take her fathers place when he dies. When she takes her place as queen , her estranged uncle Silas who she is not close to starts to plan attacks against her kingdom, it is now up to Bree to decide on how she must deal with what is happening.

I know I did not put a lot in the synopsis its just that there was soo much happening in the book. I had a lot of mixed feelings about this book.

What did I like? When I started the book, I felt the story was going in 10 different directions, as you start with Breestlin and Rowan then there is Dagan and his father, then Sidonie joins and then Elric and Silas, Vallica…. it felt like too much and no real direction for the story also wayyy too many characters for me to keep up with in a book. But if you persevere, it all comes together in the end. I didn’t expect the book to have that much steam but I must say it was done tastefully. I wont lie I got really bored in most places and it took me ages to finish the book as I kept putting it aside to read something else. It was quite slow in the first half of the book but once you get over that it moves at a nice pace with a fabulous ending. The book feels very old world with a few modern twists, I felt it needed just a bit more magic or magical creatures, I guess book 2 will reveal it all.

3 thoughts on “Book Review : Everealm by J.D Wright

  1. Great review! I definitely agree with most of what you said. The pacing was pretty slow, and I was honestly disappointed that there wasn’t much action or actual, badass fighting. I was hoping for a Game of Thrones kind of read.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

