Book Review : Bound by Duty by Stormy Smith

Bound by Duty CoverRelease date: 24th July 2014

Publisher: Perfect Storm Publishing LLC

Source:  Netgalley

Rating: ★★★★★

 Synopsis

Amelia grew up in a world of half-truths. She knows she’s an Elder, but has no idea what that means. Her father reminds her daily that she must maintain control, but he refuses to explain why. Even worse, she’s betrothed to the prince of the Immortals and doesn’t even know his name.

Finally breaking free to live a few normal years at a community college, the last thing Amelia expects is to find her best friend in a cheeky southern girl, or fall for a self-assured human who sees her for who she is, not what she will become.

As she learns more about herself, Amelia realizes the line between love and duty is a thin one. As her power continues to increase exponentially and her questions are slowly answered, Amelia must make the ultimate choice. The question is, will her head win the battle, or her heart?

 

The Review

I was part of the blitz a few months ago to promote book 2 of this series and was intrigued by the storyline and once I got the opportunity to get book 1 I took and didn’t look back. You may not know it yet, but you definitely need this series in your life.

Amelia had grown up being afraid of who she is and the power she posseses. Her mother died when she was born and her father has been driven mad. All she keeps getting told is that she is the chosen one. The only person she has is her brother Cole who seems to be the one that can help temper her power when it tries to take over. When Amelia enrolls in Uni she tries her best to blend in and not be noticed by the crown until she meets Aiden. She can understand why she is so drawn to him even though she knows she cannot be with him as she was betrothed at a very young age to the Prince all orchestrated somehow by his power hungry mother. And besides if Aiden found out the truth about her he would no longer want to be with her. Amelia also meets Micah who she realizes soon enough is like her, a mage and soon he teaches Amelia a bit more about how to control her powers. When Amelia and Aiden are attacked, its up to her and Cole to seek out answers about how Amelia can control her powers and how they can stop the queen before she comes for her. But there are choices she must make no matter how much it hurts.

What did I like? All I can say is wowzer!  The plot for this story is water tight. It was just shamazing. Once I started the book I was sold, I just couldn’t stop until I got to the end of the book. I loved the characters in the book and the author tells this story in such a way that I started to feel like the characters where people I knew. The author did a great job with the back story and everything in between. This is just what a great YA series should be, I vote for this to be made into a move, oh wait! They might not do it justice.

I liked Amelia , although she was a tad naïve and quite impulsive, but then again she is only eighteen. I felt she was quite oblivious to the changes Aiden was experiencing that she couldn’t even see who he really was. Even I could connect the dots but it seemed you had to spell it out which was plenty annoying. I loved all the characters in the book, Rhi was just sadistic and I cant wait to for him to die slowly…… evil much? I know right.

I didn’t like the fact that no one was willing to help Amelia much until it was always a bit too late. But then again lets see what Book 2 reveals. Somehow I just know that it only gets better!

2 thoughts on “Book Review : Bound by Duty by Stormy Smith

Leave a Reply

