Book Review : Christmas at Lilac Cottage by Holly Martin

 

12-books-tbr

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 12.05.39Release date: 25th September 2015

Publisher: Bookouture

Source: Netgalley

Rating:★★★★★

Synopsis

Welcome to the charming seaside town of White Cliff Bay, where Christmas is magical and love is in the air…

Penny Meadows loves her home – a cosy cottage decorated with pretty twinkling fairy lights and stunning views over the town of White Cliff Bay. She also loves her job as an ice-carver, creating breathtaking sculptures. Yet her personal life seems frozen.

When Henry and daughter Daisy arrive at the cottage to rent the annex, Penny is determined to make them feel welcome. But while Daisy is friendly, Henry seems guarded.

As Penny gets to know Henry, she realises there is more to him than meets the eye. And the connection between them is too strong to ignore…

While the spirit of the season sprinkles its magic over the seaside town and preparations for the ice sculpting competition and Christmas eve ball are in full swing, can Penny melt the ice and allow love in her heart? And will this finally be the perfect Christmas she’s been dreaming of?

The Review

When I started reading this book and found out why Penny’s house was called lilac cottage… I thought this book will be really cheesy but honestly it wasn’t. This book is a lovely lighthearted Christmas story about love, disappointments and it was really funny. No I mean seriously funny.
At the start there was the very clumsy moment with Penny and in my mind I was just saying out loud while laughing, “Just walk away now”.  And I felt every time Penny tried she just somehow put her foot in it. White Cliff bay sounds amazing, the scenes, the snow, but I also remember what its like living in a town where everyone knows your business even before anything happens. Those for me where the cringe worthy moments. The story also made me see ice sculpturing in a whole different light, I’m intrigued even and might go see some if the opportunity presents itself. Ok enough of my waffling.
When Henry and his daughter rent the annex to Penny’s cottage, she is excited about having company and also the prospect of building new friendships sounds fun. But her first meeting with Henry is very unfriendly and it gets worse when she accidentally accuses him of being a pedophile or there abouts. But over time Penny didn’t think she would like Henry or his excitable daughter Daisy. But as Christmas is approaching maybe the season can also bring some magic into Penny’s life.

What did I like? This book is going to be a personal favourite for me. I will happily recommend this to everyone I know. There were funny cringe moments in the book that I pray I never experience in my entire life. But also there were some really touching moments and one in particular I was able to relate to and it was such an awesome ending to the story too. A marvellous and entertaining read you don’t want to be without this Christmas.!!

2 thoughts on “Book Review : Christmas at Lilac Cottage by Holly Martin

  1. Aww fabulous review, thank you so much. So pleased you enjoyed it. I had so much fun writing it, so I’m glad it made you laugh. I’ll let you into a little secret. Lilac Cottage was never purple originally, it was white and was called Lilac Cottage because of the Lilac trees. When I saw the cover for the first time, it wasn’t what I was expecting but I utterly fell in love with it, but the perfectionist part of me couldn’t let the story go out with a purple cottage on the cover and a white cottage in the story so I had to change it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

