Book Review: The Twelve Dates of Christmas by Lisa Dickenson

12-books-tbr

tdocRelease date: 2nd October 2015

Publisher: Sphere

Source: Netgalley

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis

At thirty, Claudia’s life is stale and the romance with long-term boyfriend, Seth, has disappeared. Determined to inject some festive spark back into their love life, Claudia and Seth go on their first date in a very long time. But when the night ends in disaster, Claudia suddenly finds herself facing life – and Christmas – alone.

Life alone is exciting, scary and full of soon-forgotten exercise regimes and ill-advised attempts at crafting sexy underwear. It’s also filling up with dates, surprisingly. With best friends Penny and Nick at her side, a surplus of festive markets, mulled wine and Christmas tunes, Claudia attempts to face all this change with gusto. One thing’s for certain: this year, Christmas is going to be very different . . .
This is the story of Claudia and her twelve dates of Christmas. Hilarious, uplifting and romantic, it’s a story about losing love, finding love, and discovering what’s been there all along. Expect Christmas sparkle, butterflies-in-your-stomach romance and a lot of very funny moments in The Twelve Dates of Christmas.

The Review

This has to be one of my favourite books for Christmas. It’s a story about friendships, love and family. And as this is my first Lisa Dickenson book, I think I love her already. Her writing style was just awesome. The wit and conversations actually made me imagine what it would be like if it was me in Claudia’s shoes.
The book opens with Claudia going on a date with her boyfriend of 5yrs Seth, this is an attempt to bring back the passion in their relationship. Claudia knows that the relationship has sort of run its course but she is determined to make it like the old days. And this also got me thinking about a lot of people out there that are in relationships because they are just used to the other party or person and are just too scared to take a leap of faith and find the right person in their lives. I digress, let me just say though Seth was a real douche. But any way. When Seth breaks it off with Claudia she is heartbroken but her friends Nick and Penny that come to her rescue. And with her new found strength Claudia is determined to get herself back in the dating game and on track. But it seems there might be more to an old crush she has always had for her friend Nick.

What did I like? To say I just liked this book would be an understatement of the year. I absolutely enjoyed reading every page. I loved the friendships, and the how close they were, I miss having friends like that. I liked that Claudia was a daddy’s girl, and her dad would do anything to make sure she was ok.
There were times when I thought the friendship between Claudia and Penny would be at stake but was surprised how well everything worked out.
One thing I always say is that if you are getting mixed messages from the person you are interested in or a friend just ask the question, don’t go away assuming the worst. Easier said than done right?
Nick was just the best, I loved his comments and wit. He made me laugh so much in the book. I liked he’s Christmas spirit, it made me think of Christmas differently. Maybe I shouldn’t just stay home and wrap up but go out and get lost in the spirit of Christmas. The ending was just perfect as was the way they dealt with Seth… I wont comment or give it away.
If you are reading this then please get a copy and trust me it will make your Christmas even better.

Leave a Reply

