Book Review: What Happens at Christmas by TA Williams

12-books-tbr

 

tawilliams-christmascoverRelease date: 22nd October 2015

Publisher:Carina UK

Source: Netgalley

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis

For the perfect Christmas…

When career-girl Holly Brice learns that her estranged father has died, she decides to take a trip down memory lane and find out about the man she never knew.

Arriving in the sleepy little Dartmoor village, she’s shocked to discover that she’s inherited the cosy little cottage she remembers so fondly, a whole load of money – and her father’s adorable dog, too!

Head to snow-covered Devon!

And as the first snowflakes begin to fall and Holly bumps into her gorgeous neighbour, Jack Nelson, life gets even more complicated! Men have always been off the cards for high-flying Holly, but there’s something about mysterious writer Jack that has her re-thinking her three-date rule…

The Review

This book was just the perfect Christmas story. This book was touching and left me with a warm feeling. It had me rethinking what Christmas was all about.

It took me a little while to really get into the book but I must admit I liked the characters. The story was a bit slow in some places but the author kept me entertained with the sights and scenery of Dartmoor. I wont lie I am eager to go and visit this amazing town just hearing about the streams, and scenery. Maybe not in winter as I don’t want a scenario where I get stuck there.
The story is about Holly who was estranged from her father when she was 7 years old. And now fast forward 26yrs later, she found out her father just died and has left her a house and a pretty neat stash of cash (see what I did there?). When she visits the house that belonged to her father she realises that she has also inherited his gorgeous black Labrador Stirling. I’m a dog person so Stirling made the story just that much better. Dartmoor is not what Holly expected, she didn’t know she would begin to love the little village or the people who once knew her father. And she definitely did not expect to develop an interest in her good looking neighbour Jack. But it seems Jack has his own secrets.
What did I like? The story was just amazing, I really felt for Holly as she missed out on what she considers as the most important relationship, all she had left were the letters and presents her father left her. Yes it helped her know a bit more about her dad but it would have been even better if she had met him again.. It was lovely to see everyone in the village come together to make her welcome and help her in any way they could.

The book made me realise that sometimes when relationships go sour and children are involved it is so easy to believe that the children don’t know what is going on but the last thing you should ever do is deprive a child the right to know his/her parent. (I know profound stuff right?)  5 gorgeous stars from me!!!

Leave a Reply

