Book Review: Dog With a Bone (Black Dog #1) by Hailey Edwards

dogwithaboneRelease Date: 31st October 2014

Source: Netgalley

Rating:★★★★☆

Synopsis

Half-bloods with Thierry’s skill set are given two options. They can join the conclave’s marshal program, or they can pack their bags. Turn down the job offer, and you’ve just shredded your residency pass for the mortal realm and booked yourself a one-way ticket to Faerie.

Texas is the only home Thierry has ever known, and she’s not going anywhere. Even if it means following in her notorious father’s footsteps as a peacekeeper. But pinning on the badge opens her eyes to the fact sometimes fae need protection too, and that sometimes humans are the real monsters.

 

The Review

I stumbled on this series on Netgalley and all I can say is “I’m glad I did!”.  The story is centered around Thierry Thackery a half fae girl who was brought into the care of the conclave when she did not know how to control her powers. The conclave is a Fae governing authority in the Mortal realm and Thierry being a rare fae was given 2 options by the conclave, work for them or be put down. And there is the matter of Shaw, her hot incubus tutor who seems to be the only one who can keep Thierry under control or keep her from hurting other fae and humans. You see Thierry is a black dog like her father and she seems to have also inherited his powers for balancing the scales of justice and the ability to devour souls. Growing up in the mortal realm all Thierry has is her mother as she never had the chance to know her father all she knows is that he is a legend and it sucks trying to live up to the expectations of his name. Once Thierry make Marshal for the conclave, it opens her eyes to soo much more of what the Fae do in the mortal realm but they are not the only monsters as the humans she encounters are just as bad. Working with Shaw also causes her address how she feels about Shaw and even though she has heard Incubus don’t mate she is hopeful that Shaw might be the exception. When a case involving rare fae almost costs Thierry her life, its up to Shaw and Thierry to investigate and stop whoever is v.

What did I like? I really enjoyed the book. I like Thierry’s character a lot and her back-handed comments were just soo funny. I think it made Thierry a lot more personable. I have always like other worldly books and this one was quite an original concept which I enjoyed thoroughly. I like the authors writing style and even thought this first book felt more like a novella I can wait to get stuck into book 2.

What didn’t I like? I felt there were a few holes in the book. After I read this book I realized that the author wrote this book after the book 2. It didn’t explain much about what Thierry was, she was a black dog and that was it. I had to fill in a lot of blanks to really get and understand the main character. And I felt it ended so abruptly that I had to keep checking that the book really was finished.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Dog With a Bone (Black Dog #1) by Hailey Edwards

Leave a Reply

