Debut Author of the Month : Eliza Nolan

Debut-author

While I know writing an awesome book that readers out there will love is hard work, I also think its great to recognise new authors who are writing fantastic stories.

And this month we caught up with debut author Eliza Nolan about her book Phoenix Awakens.

smElizaAbout the Author

Eliza Nolan was born and raised in Minneapolis, Minnesota. She lived in Charleston, South Carolina, for a few years, after which she returned to icy Minnesota – where she now lives with her two unruly cats in a house smaller than your closet.

She is an avid reader and writer of YA. She has ghostwritten a novel or two, but also writes her own stuff, and is finally publishing her debut young adult urban fantasy novel, Phoenix Awakens.

Author Links

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

The Interview

Thank you for having me on your blog. It’s an honor to be here.
1.    What was your inspiration for Phoenix Awakens?

I’ve always been fascinated by secret societies, so I wanted to write a story about a secret society that had some dark, cult qualities. I wondered what would happen if a high school student got involved in a secret society. I also wanted the main character to be a female who needed to become her own hero. With those elements, the rest of the story really came out as I wrote it. Sometimes I didn’t know where the characters were going until I was in the middle of the scene writing.

2.     Why did you decide to write YA?

Because I love that time in life. Young adults often deal with adult situations that can be complex, dramatic, and very real. Meanwhile they still have that young imagination where anything is possible (even magic). YA is filled with creativity and possibility, and that combination is so much fun to work with.…

3.      Who was your favorite character in the book and why?

It depends on the day. I really like the heroin, Julia. I loved going on the journey with her. But I think Samantha was the most fun to watch change as I went through revisions. As the story developed, she ended up becoming so contrary to almost everything I imagined. One minute I would think I’d figured her out, and the next she would surprise me by doing something totally contrary to what I thought she would do.

4.       Do you read much? And if you do who are your favourite authors?

I love reading! However, picking a favorite author seems impossible, so I’ll just list a bunch. 😉 I grew up on Stephen King and still like his stories. I also really loved Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight. I devoured Cast’s House of Night series. I also appreciate Cassandra Clare and Maggie Stiefvater.

5.        What do you do when you are not writing?

A blind date asked me this once and my brain froze. Inside I was thinking, “Why wouldn’t I be writing?”

But seriously, I love reading (of course). Oh, I’m a big The Walking Dead fan, so I’ll watch that with friends. I like running, even though I’m slower than anyone else out there. I also spend a ridiculous amount of time on Twitter.

6.     Can you share a little of what we can expect in the sequel to Phoenix Awakens?

It’s only in its early outlining/drafting stages, so this is a tricky one to answer without giving anything away, but I’ll try. Julia is in for a big trip in search of her mother, and answers. Istanbul, get ready for Julia Long!

Phoenix Awakens is now available to buy

Amazon | B & N

phoenix

Release date: 12th October 2015

Publisher: Createspace

Julia never believed in magic.

Julia Long is starting her senior year with an extra dose of crazy. The dreams of cultish, bloody rituals are weird enough, but the victim in her lifelike dreams is her new classmate, Southern charmer Graham.

Graham admits he was a Phoenix — part of a centuries old secret society — but swears he left it all behind.

As Julia works with Graham to figure out why she is dreaming about his past, she’s discovering she has other abilities. She heals Graham’s migraines with a touch, and there’s her superhuman strength that comes and goes. Julia doesn’t know where her new talents come from, but there’s no denying that when Graham is near, her powers kick into overdrive.
But the Phoenix Society wants Graham back. They need his blood to awaken the magic they seek, and they’ll do whatever it takes to get it.

Can Julia uncover the truth behind her connection to Graham? How far will Julia go in order to save Graham and stop the Phoenixes from harnessing this powerful magic?

add-to-goodreads-button

Read the Review Here

Leave a Reply

