Book Review : Marked by Sue Tingey

suetingey-marked

Release date: 7th May 2015

Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books

Source: Netgalley

Rating:★★★☆☆

Synopsis

With no family and very few friends, Lucky’s psychic ability has always made her an outcast. The only person she can rely on is Kayla, the ghost girl who has been with her since she was born.

But Kayla is not all that she appears.

And when Lucky is visited by a demonic assassin with a message for her friend, she finds herself dragged into the Underlands – and the political fight for the daemon king’s throne.

Lucky, trapped in the daemon world, is determined to find her way home… until she finds herself caught between the charms of the Guardian Jamie, the charismatic Daemon of Death Jinx – and the lure of finding out who she really is.

The Review

Ok as you know I am a bit of a sucker for Angels and on seeing the ones on this cover I thought, “that might be fun” ah well it wasn’t what I was expecting but all the same it made for great entertainment in a really creepy way.

The story is centered around Lucky or Lucinda from when she was a little girl she could see the dead. Yes I know what you are thinking “ I see dead people” that’s right. And even though it has affected the course of her life it hasn’t been all bad. At least she has her best and only friend a ghost or spirit named Kayla. But she doesn’t know what to think when she is called in to help a situation involving ghosts at her old school. When she gets there she realizes that what ever spirit that has been set free within the school was worse than she expected. It wasn’t just a spirit but a very dangerous demon who proceeds to give Lucky a message for Kayla. When Lucky confronts Kayla about it, she becomes guarded which has never happened before.  Soon Lucky starts to make discoveries about her best friend that shenever knew and also the arrival of a new stranger in her life starts to make it all very complicated. As the story unravels Lucky starts to realize that what she actually knows about her parents and her life might have been a lie. With not knowing who she can really trust its up to Lucky to decide is she wants to be involved in the political battle to rule the underlands.

This book is the first by Debut author Sue Tingey this book was pretty darn great. It had everything you needed. Moments of laughter, sadness, betrayal. I have never read a book about ghosts and demons in this way but there is a first time for everything. Really great descriptive writing as I love it when I get to imagine a world different from the one we live in. I liked Kayla and Lucky friendship, made me with I had a friend like that all the time. I also liked James although I thought the names givne to the some of the demons were pretty corny to childish, I mean Shenanigans and kerfuffle and jinx??? C’mon….. I had to keep checking if this book was for the right age group. And I wasn’t wrong because there were always the implication of Lucky having a 3 way. I don’t get 3 way’s, why include it. It would have been great if she had a healthy relationship with James. I kept rooting for him. (sorry I don’t usually include spilers!)

This was an interesting start to the series, it would be awesome to see how the rest of the story unfolds in the next book in the series. My only plea to the author is to please not make use wait too long for it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

