Book Review : Dream a Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher

Dream a little dream

Release date: 18th June 2015

Publisher: Penguin

Source: Publisher

Rating:★★★☆☆

Synopsis

Sarah is doing just fine. Sure she’s been single for the last five years, and has to spend an uncomfortable amount of time around her ex-boyfriend, his perfect new girlfriend and all their mutual friends. And yes, her job as a PA to one of the most disgusting men in London is mind-numbingly tedious and her career is a constant disappointment to her mother. But it’s really okay. She’s happy (ish).

So it’s not surprising that when Sarah starts dreaming about a handsome stranger, she begins to look forward to falling asleep every night. Reality isn’t nearly as exciting. That is until her dream-stranger makes an unexpected real-life appearance, leaving Sarah questioning everything she thought she wanted.

Because no one ever really finds the person of their dreams… do they?

The Review

So I absolutely loved Giovanna Fletcher’s “You’re the One I want” and just knew that I would want to read this book because I enjoy her writing style.

The story is mostly about Sarah, although she was dumped by her ex boyfriend she still has to endure evenings out with him and her best mates. And most of all its slightly painful that she has to also be nice to his near perfect girlfriend that he left her for. Life is just great… not! Sarah hates her job as a PA as she feels her talents are being wasted on this dead end job, but even worse she has to endure the judgmental stare from her mother when she visits.

The best part of Sarah’s day is when she goes to bed as she gets to retreat to her dream world and soon she dreams up a very hot stranger who oddly reminds her someone she met briefly in University . Soon she starts looking forward to every night she spends with this stranger until one day in the office the new recruit that joins the company where she works is non other than her handsome stranger she has been dreaming about. But now he is really standing in front of her, could this be really happening? Most importantly is he the same person she sees in her dreams. Sarah must now that they are working together if reality is better much than her dreams.

What did I like? I am a big fan of the author and so was quick to get this to read. I really liked Sarah’s character and I somehow could understand how she felt most times when you and your ex share the same friends. You are constantly in each others lives which makes it hard for you to move on or pine over a love lost. I felt like Sarah was just too much of a pushover, trying to accommodate her ex’s girlfriend when she knew how uncomfortable she was about the situation. And her Ex was such a douche for even bringing his girlfriend around knowing how much he hurt Sarah. I Loved the story and the end was just the icing on the cake. Brett was also a fun character, he had the best comments and jokes. His innuendo’s are just super funny. The book had a great amount of banter and fun parts also some sad parts which were heartbreaking.

What didn’t I like? So this book for me was a bit of a let down. For me the story only kicked off in the last 30 -40% of the book. Most of the time was spent in Sarah’s dreams which were sometimes odd and pointless. I wont lie I hated the dreams as most of them had nothing to do with her day to day life or the story. I know we were building up to her perception of Brett and also what it would be like when she met him. I found myself skipping forward so I don’t lose interest in the story as to be honest I almost gave up a few times. I found the end really corny and I wont say why, you judge for yourself as I don’t want to give away most of the story.

A fun read which shows that no matter what, your dreams can come true.

Leave a Reply

