Book Review : The First Time We Met ( The Oxford Blue Series #1) by Pippa Croft

pippa-croft-series-001

Release date : October 9th 2014

Publisher: Penguin

Source: Publisher

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis

Senator’s daughter Lauren Cusack is leaving Washington behind for the dreaming spires of Oxford University – and she’s ready for a challenge. Now a fully-fledged Master’s student, Lauren is determined to make the most of every single minute. But then she meets Alexander Hunt, and everything changes. A devastatingly handsome English aristocrat, Alexander is as brooding and enigmatic as they come. Lauren tries to resist his advances, but he has his sights clearly set on the young American, and what Alexander wants, he gets. Caution soon gives way to mind-blowing passion and Lauren is drawn into Alexander’s privileged world of glamour and status. But all that glitters is not gold – for Alexander is a man with a dark past, and desire may not be enough to conquer all else . . .

 

The Review

Let me just start by saying this was my second attempt at reading this book. The first time I picked it up I gave up in minutes because the author in my opinion spent too much time describing the details that I found not so interesting. So they wear designer clothes and they are from wealthy families big deal. Ok now onto the book.

The book opens with Lauren who is American and has left her home in Washington to pursue a Masters at Wychham College Oxford . On her first day she makes friend with Imogen (Immy) who helps her get settled and invites her to hang with some of her friends. One of which is Rupert, such an ego driven prat and when he tries to put the moves on Lauren she rebuffs him and in her anger she storms out and runs straight into the hottest guy she has had the pleasure of knowing. Alexander Hunt is every girls dream and like his name “Hunt” he loves a challenge. Lauren knows she needs to focus on her studies and ignore Alexanders advances. But soon she gives in to her need for him. The passion the brews between them is addictive and they both can’t get enough of each other. Soon Lauren is drawn into Alexander’s world of glamour where status is everything and soon Lauren starts to wonder she is out of her depth. Plus there is the matter of Alexander’s ex Valentina knows the right buttons to push that just might tip Lauren over the edge.

What did I like about the book? To be honest this was not that much different from all other erotic/romance trilogies you read. The concept is the same, young inexperienced girl meets rich experienced brooding man and then the rest of the story follows. I liked this maybe because they were younger and were students in pursuit of an ambition. At least they wanted to do meaningful things with their lives. I liked Alexander’s character with his over the top gestures of romance. It had me wishing I had an Alexander Hunt of my own. Lauren wasn’t such a bad character, I found her to be less whiney but still prone to doing very silly things when provoked especially when she kept taking the bait that Rupert and Valentina threw out to her.

What I didn’t like? There was just a lot of bits to the story that was not needed. I know you need to set the scene but it was just a bit much sometimes that I had to skip pages to get to the story.

Overall I really enjoyed the book and dare I say that I am hooked especially with that cliff hanger ending. I need to get out there and get book 2.

Leave a Reply

