Book Review : Frost by E.Latimer

Frost Front Cover

Release date : August 25th 2015

Publisher: Patchwork Press

Source: Netgalley

Rating:★★★★★

Synopsis

Megan Walker’s touch has turned to ice. She can’t stop the frost, and the consequences of her first kiss are horrifying.

When her new powers attract attention, Megan finds herself caught up in an ancient war between Norse giants. One side fuelled by a mad queen’s obsession and an ancient prophecy about Ranorak, the other by an age-old grudge. Both sides believe Megan to be something she’s not. Both sides will stop at nothing to have her.

Fire or frost. It’s an impossible decision, but she’ll have to act soon, because the storm is coming.

The Review

I was part of the cover reveal of this title a few months ago and I decided that at that moment that I would actually love to read this book. So when I got a copy from Netgalley you can imagine my excitement. I always like reading books with some mythology and boy is Norse mythology fun. Ok I’m getting a bit too excited here lets start from the top. So the book starts with Megan Walker, who kisses a boy she likes from school. Little did she know that she would turn him to ice, she gets scared and runs home but you know what this means right…… if you didn’t work it out then it just means she is in trouble and there is a lot more to her than meets the eye.

Megan lives with her aunt and uncle and together they move from California to Canada where megan attends a new school and now has to make new friends. She makes friends with a nice girl named Charlotte, but there is another clique of girls in school who want Megan to join their group. Megan soon realises that there is something similar about this group of girls and her but she cant quite put her finger on it.

Then one night she notices that she is being followed and suddenly she is kidnapped and taken away. From this point on Megan’s life changes and she is not sure if it is for good or bad. Will she able to trust anyone or just rely on her instincts, also it doesn’t help that she looks like the queens beloved daughter that is not longer alive. Did I mention the dreams that she is having can she trust what she see’s in her dreams?

What did I like about the book? The fact that the book was based on norse mythology was just awesome, I always love books where my imagination can wander further that the everyday life. The characters were just really awesome. Megan wasn’t so bad as a lead character although I felt she just needed to suck it up and make a decision on who to trust . I didn’t quite like how she was always so hot and cold (pun intended). I think I liked Loki, I say it this way because there wasn’t enough time spent getting to really know him.

What I didn’t like? Can you guess it……. The fact that this is the start of another series or trilogy. I was really hoping that it would just fit into one book. There were also moments that I felt the book slowed down with information that was a bit unnecessary, like how Amy had her hair done to mimic the queen or even all the idle chit chat that she gets up to.

Would I read the rest of the series? Hell Yeah! I would love to see so much more of what will happen with the rest of this series. I just hope we don’t have to wait too long for the next book.

Leave a Reply

