Book Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Seeker

Release date: February 10th 2015

Publisher: Random House

Source: Netgalley

Rating:★★★★

Synopsis

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.

As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.

And she’ll be with the boy she loves–who’s also her best friend. But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.

Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought. And now it’s too late to walk away.

The Review

The fact that there are so many YA books out there make it hard to make a choice every time I need to read a book.

The book opens with Quin, John and Shinobu practicing with Alistair, they have become really good over time and any moment now they will be tested to see who is worthy to become a seeker. But of course like everything in life things don’t turn out how Quin hoped they would. She has been told noble stories about being a seeker and like her father she wants to follow in his footsteps, although once she takes her oath she discovers that being a seeker is not at all what she thought it was. And there is so much that has been hidden from her. Shinobu also discovers that there is soo much his father Alistair has hidden from him and once secret in particular makes Shinobu question his fathers questions.

John loves Quin and he knows that Quin feels the same way but will she understand the reason for his actions? Would she help him restore what was taken from his family?

What did I like? Well where do I start, this is a YA novel in its own league. I don’t think I have read anything like this. The use of the Athame, the whipsword,the dreads, disruptors and Traveler? All I can say is wow! I was on a rollercoaster from the start to finish. The fight scenes were so descriptive that I could almost visualize it all when it was happening. I enjoyed reading the book from the different characters points of view. This allows you to have rounded view of the characters and the story. My favorite character was Shinobu, I thought Quin was a bit whiney, although others might argue that she has the makings of a ture Heroine. I liked Maud more, her wisdom provided the right balance for the story. I wanted to beat up Briac, that man is evil! But that’s enough from me, no spoilers…..

What didn’t I like? I felt like the story dragged on quite a bit especially with the flashbacks. I wish there were date stamps so I could have known we were flashing back. I was really hoping that this would be a one off book but my joy was short lived when it ended in a bit of a to be continued kind of way.

Although I was happy with most of the events that took place toward the end, and if I don’t read book 2 I wont really be fussed.

Truly a YA novel in its own league, its one of those that will linger with you for a little while.

Leave a Reply

