Start a New Hobby in 2015.

It’s 2015 and its January, those New Year resolutions are lurking around the corner. While I gave up on the idea a few years ago, I still think the start of a new year is a time of the clean slate protocol (stole that from Iron Man 3) a time to introduce new trends or habits into your life.

Now research shows that it takes the average human being at least 21 days to cultivate a new habit, so when you decide to take that step just bear this little fact somewhere in the back of your mind.

_MG_9350While I am advocating the hobby of reading books, which to most people out there seems like a dying pastime, I also urge you to try other hobbies out there that line up with your interests and passions. Don’t pick a hobby because your friends are doing it or they say it’s what the cool kids are doing, really take some time to discover what would interest you.

For me, I find books are a great way to relax and also let your imagination do the work. For me it is an escape from the reality I live in (not that my reality is not fun, it is!). Find a genre that suits you, it could be urban fiction, other worldly fiction or even romance, crime etc. I don’t do autobiographies and non-fiction and this is because real life is hard enough. So when I escape let it be somewhere that doesn’t exist or some insane made up place I have always envisioned.

Some interesting research showed that people who read fiction are more empathetic and make better friends. Now how about that? So if you are having problems making friends read a book… or even better join a book club. You can read more about it HERE.

Even have the likes of Mark Zukerberg are starting up a book club on facebook (read more), so while you might think it is un-cool to read books now because everything out there is being adapted to the big screen, think again. I personally think 2015 is the year people will do more reading than ever before. So go ahead feed your imagination!#amreading.

 

keep-calm-and-read-more-books-11

Happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

